Big Splash 2017 Opening

The Big Splash 2017 Opening Reception took place on October 6th and had a very nice turnout. This is a beautiful show, one not to be missed, so we hope you will take your family and friends to the gallery if you have not had a chance to see it.  We are so proud of all our artists and the quality of their work.

We would like to thank all those who made this event possible:  Janel Daum-Tegtmeier and Eric Barnes, owners of 1900 Park Creative Space, for hosting our show, their hands on assistance, and providing the opening reception refreshments; our Juror, Lisa Ober;  our Exhibits Co-Chairs, Fran Kempin and Carla Giller, for planning, booking, overseeing all preparations for the show and helping at receiving and hanging of the show; our Graphics and Design Chair, Françoise Olivier, for designing and creating our show catalog, invitation and  who photographed entries for members who were unable to do so; our Publicity Chair, Florine Porter, for soliciting all the awards from our corporate sponsors and for presenting them at the opening; our Secretary, Jane Hogg, for preparing the title cards and award certificates; our Event Chair, Barb Liebman, for recruiting volunteers and coordinating all aspect of the show and helping with receiving, hanging, and retrieval; our volunteers who worked at receiving: Ken Francis, Annette McGarrahan, Peggy Michalski, Mary Mosblech, Betty Siems and Jeanne Thomas;  our Data Entry volunteer, Janine Helton, for entering all the entries on our Entry Registration Form; our lead organizer of hanging the show, Suzanne Galli Koenen, and her group of volunteers: Kathy Dowd, Ken Francis, Fran and Dave Kempin, Michael Koenen, Barb Liebman, Karen Papin and Karl Zickler; our photographer, James Brauer, for photographing all the award winning paintings; and all the volunteers who are manning the gallery during the run of the show: Dave Anderson, Nancy Avdoian, Judy Brown, Carolyn Cleveland, Kathy Dowd, Susan Eveker, Jan Foulk, Ken Francis, Mary B. Friedman, Carla Giller, Janine Helton, Fran Kempin, Gerry Klein, Diana Leszcz, Kathleen Luepke, Kathleen McDowell, Annette McGarrahan, Peggy Michalski, Françoise Olivier, Karen Papin, Zaida Phillips, Betty Siems and Jeanne Thomas; and last but not least, all our members who entered artwork in the show.

We also want to congratulate all of the Award winners.  Their artwork, along with information about our Juror and the Juror’s Statement,  can be viewed on our website under the Exhibits tab (just click Exhibits on the opening page, then Big Splash Exhibition, then click the image for 2017 to open the posting).

Here are some photos of the show and Opening Reception for your enjoyment.

We wanted to share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *